Lebanon · Jurisdiction Guide

Search Lebanon Commercial Register: Arabic FindBox at cr.justice.gov.lb

Lebanon's Commercial Register at cr.justice.gov.lb offers a public Arabic search by registration number or commercial name, and publishes no fees.

Lebanon company registry guide cover

Workflow checklist

  1. Identify the registry. cr.justice.gov.lb
  2. Check access requirements. Account required: No. Local ID required: No.
  3. Plan budget. Price range: USD 0.00. Payment methods: Not published; confirm at source.
  4. Anticipate friction. Captcha / 2FA: No. English UI: No.
  5. Plan turnaround. Expected: Unknown.
  6. Verify recency. Last verified: 4 Sept 2026. Confirm current pricing at the official registry before submitting.

Download workflow checklist (Markdown)

TL;DR. Lebanon’s commercial register portal is https://cr.justice.gov.lb, titled السجل التجاري. The homepage carries a public search box labelled رقم التسجيل أو الإسم التجاري (registration number or commercial name) with a بحث button that submits to search/res_list.aspx. There is no login field and no captcha on that form, and the interface is in Arabic only. No fee and no turnaround time are published there, so search costs are unknown rather than free; confirm at source.

What is the official Lebanon business registry?

Lebanon’s commercial register (Registre du Commerce / السجل التجاري) sits under the Ministry of Justice. The portal is https://cr.justice.gov.lb. Its homepage banner reads وزارة العدل - السجل التجاري and its footer copyright reads 2012 وزارة العدل اللبنانية.

The description page at http://cr.justice.gov.lb/desc/desc.aspx, titled تعريف السجل التجاري, cites Lebanese commercial-law text: the register is kept at each court of first instance under a clerk, with a general register for traders and companies and a special register for commercial establishments. That is the statutory description rather than an account of any one chamber’s paper file.

Homepage form (no account field, no captcha input):

  • Text field: registration number or commercial name (رقم التسجيل أو الإسم التجاري)
  • Submit: بحث, targeting search/res_list.aspx
  • Help text on the page: enter any part of the register number or commercial name, then search

What a result row shows, and whether director or shareholder lists appear with it, is not stated on the homepage; confirm at source.

The forms page at http://cr.justice.gov.lb/forms/forms.aspx (titled نماذج) lists filing forms including بيان بصاحب الحق الاقتصادي (beneficial-owner statement) as a PDF. That is a filing form, not a public UBO register search.

How much does it cost?

ItemCost (LBP)Cost (USD, approx.)
Homepage name / number searchUnknownUnknown
Court-chamber printed extractUnknownUnknown
Certified / notarised copyUnknownUnknown

No fee table appears on the homepage, so the rows above read unknown rather than free; confirm at source.

Do you need a local account or ID?

The homepage search form has no account field and no captcha. How certified copies are obtained, and whether collection at a chamber is required, is not stated on the site; confirm at source.

Is the website in English?

No. The title, labels, menus and help text are all in Arabic, and French does not appear in the homepage interface.

What’s the turnaround time?

Unknown. The site publishes no turnaround time, and no chamber collection times appear on it; confirm at source.

Is there an API?

No public API is documented on https://cr.justice.gov.lb.

What you legally cannot do

The homepage links a disclaimer, إتفاقية رفع مسؤولية (disclosure.aspx). It is not published as an English terms page, so the rules on bulk scraping and commercial redistribution are not set out there; confirm at source.

OFAC and EU sanctions screening for Lebanese counterparties is a separate matter, and not a field on the commercial register.

Practical tips for foreign compliance buyers

  • The homepage search box takes a registration number or a commercial name, then بحث. What the results show is not stated on that page.
  • Arabic only. The homepage has no English interface.
  • Chamber vs portal. The description page states that the register is kept at the courts of first instance.
  • The beneficial-owner PDF is a filing form. forms/beneficial_owner.pdf is not a public beneficial ownership search.
  • FATF grey-list status is not published on the registry site. FATF wording from May 2026 has been reported; confirm at source.

Alternatives if you cannot use the portal

  • The live portal is https://cr.justice.gov.lb.
  • OpenCorporates (https://opencorporates.com): the site is online, but its per-jurisdiction listing path returns a challenge page rather than a listing. A non-official aggregator whose Lebanon coverage is not confirmed here.
  • Certified extracts from a court chamber are not offered online; confirm at source.

Local data suppliers

  • Schmidt & Schmidt (https://www.schmidt-export.com). An extract intermediary, online under the title Home | Schmidt & Schmidt. Its Lebanon coverage is not confirmed here.

Use the Ministry of Justice portal for the public search form. An aggregator is not the register.

FAQ

Can a foreign company use the Lebanon portal?

The homepage search form has no account field, and the interface is Arabic only. How certified extracts are collected at a court chamber is not stated on the site; confirm at source.

What identifier does the live form ask for?

Registration number or commercial name (رقم التسجيل أو الإسم التجاري). Whether numbering differs by chamber is not explained on the site; confirm at source.

What entity types are described on the site?

The companies page (http://cr.justice.gov.lb/comp/comp.aspx) describes commercial companies under Lebanese law, including partnerships and capital companies (including the limited-liability company). That is statutory text rather than a list of registered entities.

Does Lebanon have a public UBO search on this portal?

No. The forms page lists a beneficial-owner statement as a filing form, which is not a public beneficial ownership register.

How current is the data?

The homepage does not say how current the data is, chamber by chamber; confirm at source.


Last verified: 2026-09-04. Source: https://cr.justice.gov.lb, titled السجل التجاري, which carries a public Arabic search form. No fees or turnaround times are published there. For the full global due diligence framework, see our Global Business Due Diligence Guide.

Related articles